The Art Of Living

Christina Glazar
2 min readNov 10, 2021

--

This week I turned sixty-four. It is not a milestone birthday. However, it got me thinking especially in the light of the past years dominated by a devastating pandemic.

Living can turn into an art form if done well. I honestly believe in that. To hear what old people around a hundred years old have to say I visited YouTube.

Most content seniors were still able to get around and take care of themselves. That makes sense to me. Without mobility, the qualities of life are diminished. It also seems to me that we learn to come to terms with our past and the tragedies in it. None of the older people lived their lives without loss, pain, and hurt. Still, they found a way to let go of it.

Are they afraid of dying?

That does not appear to be the case. They hang on to life but know that it will eventually end and probably in the nearer future. One man mused:” … it is pointless to worry about it because we just expire and it is over. No need to get worked up about the afterlife when there is nothing to fear.”

My life went through challenges and changes too. But during the past decade I came to understand what living life artfully means to me:

  1. I am not so focused on lines and wrinkles as I was years ago. My skincare is reduced to the basics. No Botox, fillers, or any other expensive efforts. It does not change aging, and a rather use that money for something more “fun”.
  2. Staying curious and keeping my brain active is a must. I keep writing, creating art, and producing videos to let these brain cells twirl. Conquering and using modern technology gives me a sense of accomplishment, and I am convinced it keeps me mentally fresh.
  3. The most important is trying to enjoy the moment. That is the hardest virtue for me. I always want to run for tomorrow even though I know tomorrow is shrinking every day.
  4. Finally showing compassion and understanding for others whether we think their way is the right way or not. We can stand by our point of view and don’t need to quarrel with others just to be right.

--

--

Christina Glazar

Artist — Owner GLAZYART 💕Dreams And Visions: Food For The Soul 💕Swiss Expat, Artist, Love Family, My Dogs, Food, Everything Fun 💕www.christinaglazar.com